The Force Awakens

tfa_poster_wide_headerOkay, so I’m going to be completely honest with you, Star Wars was never really my cup of tea. Don’t get me wrong, they’re really good movies. I like the movies. I just don’t love them enough to dress up as characters…sorry. However, the most recent movie I have seen (and probably the most recent movie anyone has seen) is Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens. First off I’ll get the whole like or dislike out of the way, I actually really liked this movie. Now, for anyone who hasn’t seen it, I promise I won’t give out spoilers.

One of the things I really liked about Force Awakens is that there are so many connections and similarities
es to the other movies. I always find it interesting when an author/screenplay writer can create a book/movie

jarjar
The Character that ruined every movie.

that has so many allusions to its predecessors while still feeling entirely new. There were lots of similarities between the 7th episode and the 1st (yes, the horrible one with Jar-Jar Binks).

 

Sorry, but I might have to add like two sort of spoilers in here…so skip if you haven’t seen/read any description/trailer for this movie. Okay, first off I find it funny that the First Order (the new version of the Empire) decides to build a bigger Death Star. The Empire built two and the resistance blew up both of them! Why do evil people always think that building the exact same thing and only changing the size means it’s going to work? Nice try New Order, but you failed, although if they had ever looked back at their history they should have known that would happen. Oopps. Okay, second sorthqdefault of, not really spoiler. Kylo Ren. I think he’s my favorite character simply because he pretty much joined the dark side because he’s Darth Vader’s fanboy. The movie never really tells you WHY he joined the New Order, it only says he was tempted. Personally, I think Ren joined to (a) be like his beloved Vader and (b) because then he can throw all the temper tantrums he wants and no one can say anything. I mean, in the beginning of the movie there is a scene with him TALKING to Darth Vader’s melted helmet. That’s almost full blown stalker fan right there. Also, if you happen to notice their outfits, they’re strikingly similar. (Spoiler: Ren’s mask serves no purpose, literally none. Vader’s was because of his burns and respiratory problems.)

 

Leave a Reply

