Slytherin To These Literary Terms

Hello, and welcome to another blog post about literary terms. On this week’s instalment we’ll be discussing sarcasm and puns.

Now, if you haven’t noticed yet or this is the first post of mine that you’ve read, then you’ll soon discover I’m rather snarky. Also, being a teenager, sarcasm makes up about 70% of my brain, just as water makes up 70% of our bodies. Sarcasm is my, if not most teenagers, life blood. Without it, I would live a rather dull life. So, here’s some of my favorite examples of sarcasm.

hp5_b“‘Yes…yes, good point, Petunia! What were you doing under our window, boy?’

‘Listening to the news,’ said Harry in a resigned voice.

His aunt and uncles exchanged looks of outrage. ‘Listening to the news! Again?’

Well, it changes every day you see,‘ said Harry” (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling).

o-new-harry-potter-cover-facebook
Hermione: “Stop moving! I know what this is –
it’s Devil’s Snare!”

Ron: “Oh, I’m so glad we know what it’s called, that’s a great help.

Hermione: “Shut up, I’m trying to remember how to kill it! What did Professor Sprout say? – it likes the dark and the damp -” (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling).

 

Okay, so now that we’ve got the fictional teenage sarcasm out of the way (thank you J.K. for verbally accurate characters), we’ll move onto puns. Who likes puns show of hands? Okay…well that won’t work since I can’t see you, so oh well. Anywho, we all either have friends that make puns (and they’re terrible) or we are the friend that makes the puns (and I’m sorry, but they’re terrible). However, there are also lots of literary characters that make puns. So, here’s a few examples to make yourself feel better.

“The 9th Doctor disables the plastic arm and says to Rose, “It’s all right, I’ve stopped it. There you go (tosses plastic arm to Rose), you see? ‘armless” (Doctor Who Season 1, Episode20867-1-1281271307 1: Rose).

Goddard: “Uh, sire, with respect, there’s something more urgent. We arrested two intruders 53 floors down. We don’t know how they got in.”

Van Statten:”I’ll tell you how they got in — in-tru-der window [in through the]” (Doctor Who Season 1, Episode 6: Dalek).

The Intelligence: “You are not of this world.”

Doctor: “Takes one to snow one [know]” (Doctor Who Season 7, Episode 6: The Snowmen).

Now that I am done with this post, I will just point out this one last thing. The title of this post is a pun…sorry, I’m one of those friends.

Leave a Reply

